Search This Blog

Monday, July 18, 2022

How States are Implementing IDEA (Not Very Well)

 In The Politics of Autism, I write about special education and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

From the U.S. Department of Education 

The U.S. Department of Education (Department) issued its 2022 determinations for States on their implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) for Part B and Part C. The IDEA requires the Department to issue an annual determination, based on State Performance Plan (SPP) and Annual Performance Report (APR), which evaluates the State’s efforts to implement the requirements and purposes of the IDEA, and describes how the State will improve its implementation. The Part B SPP/APR and Part C SPP/APR include indicators that measure child and family results, and other indicators that measure compliance with the requirements of the IDEA. Since 2015, the Part B SPP/APR and Part C SPP/APR have included a State Systemic Improvement Plan through which each State focuses its efforts on improving a State-selected child or family outcome.


 IDEA details four categories for the Secretary’s determinations. A State’s determination may be: 

  • Meets the requirements and purposes of IDEA;
  • Needs assistance in implementing the requirements of IDEA; 
  • Needs intervention in implementing the requirements of IDEA; or 
  • Needs substantial intervention in implementing the requirements of IDEA.


Following is a list of each State’s performance in meeting the requirements of IDEA Part B, which serves students with disabilities, ages 3 through 21: 

MEETS REQUIREMENTS Connecticut Florida Georgia Illinois Indiana Kansas Kentucky Maine Massachusetts Minnesota Missouri Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Republic of the Marshall Islands South Dakota Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming 

NEEDS ASSISTANCE (one year) North Dakota Tennessee Utah 

NEEDS ASSISTANCE (two or more consecutive years) Alabama Alaska American Samoa Arizona Arkansas Bureau of Indian Education California Colorado Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands Delaware District of Columbia Federated States of Micronesia Guam Hawaii Iowa Idaho Louisiana Maryland Michigan Mississippi Montana Nevada New Mexico New York North Carolina Ohio Puerto Rico Republic of Palau Rhode Island South Carolina Texas Vermont Virgin Islands Washington West Virginia NEED INTERVENTION none