Search This Blog

Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Implementing IDEA, Needing Assistance

 In The Politics of Autism, I write about special education and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

U.S. Department Of Education. 2021 Determination Letters on State Implementation of IDEA, June 24, 2021.

IDEA identifies specific technical assistance or enforcement actions that the Department must take under specific circumstances for States that are not determined to “meet requirements.” If a State “needs assistance” for two consecutive years, the Department must take one or more enforcement actions, including, among others, requiring the State to access technical assistance, designating the State as a high-risk grantee, or directing the use of State set-aside funds to the area(s) where the State needs assistance. If a State “needs intervention” for three consecutive years, the Department must take one or more enforcement actions, including among others, requiring a corrective action plan or compliance agreement, or withholding further payments to the State. Any time a State “needs substantial intervention” the Department must take immediate enforcement action, such as withholding funds or referring the matter to the Department’s inspector general or to the Department of Justice

Following is a list of each State’s performance in meeting the requirements of IDEA Part B, which serves students with disabilities, ages 3 through 21: 
MEETS REQUIREMENTS Connecticut Florida Illinois Indiana Kansas Kentucky Maine Massachusetts Minnesota Missouri Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey North Dakota Oklahoma Pennsylvania Republic of the Marshall Islands South Dakota Tennessee Utah Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
NEEDS ASSISTANCE (one year) Arkansas Bureau of Indian Education Georgia North Carolina New York Palau Virgin Islands Vermont West Virginia
NEEDS ASSISTANCE (two or more consecutive years) Alabama Alaska American Samoa Arizona California Colorado Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands Delaware District of Columbia Federated States of Micronesia Guam Hawaii Iowa Idaho Louisiana Maryland Michigan Mississippi Montana New Mexico Nevada Ohio Oregon Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina Texas Washington