Search This Blog

Monday, July 6, 2020

Most States Don't Meet IDEA Requirements

In The Politics of Autism, I write about special education and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.

During the 2018-19 academic year, 21 states met the requirements of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act for students ages 3 to 21.

From the Department of Education:
The U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services released State determinations on implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) for Part B and Part C for fiscal year 2018. The 2004 Amendments to the IDEA require each State to develop a State Performance Plan (SPP) and Annual Performance Report (APR) that evaluates the State’s efforts to implement the requirements and purposes of the IDEA, and describes how the State will improve its implementation. The Part B SPP/APR and Part C SPP/APR include Indicators that measure child and family results, and other indicators that measure compliance with the requirements of the IDEA. Since 2015, the Part B SPP/APR and Part C SPP/APR have included a State Systemic Improvement Plan through which each State focuses its efforts on improving a State-selected child or family outcome.
Following is a list of each State’s performance in meeting the requirements of IDEA Part B, which serves students with disabilities, ages 3 through 21:
 MEETS REQUIREMENTS Arkansas Florida Georgia Illinois Kansas Kentucky Maine Massachusetts Minnesota Missouri New Hampshire New Jersey North Carolina North Dakota Oklahoma Pennsylvania Republic of the Marshall Islands South Dakota Virginia West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
NEEDS ASSISTANCE (one year) Arizona Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands Connecticut Indiana Montana Nebraska Ohio
NEEDS ASSISTANCE (two or more consecutive years) Alabama Alaska American Samoa District of Columbia California Colorado Delaware Federated States of Micronesia Guam Hawaii Iowa Idaho Louisiana Maryland Michigan Mississippi New Mexico Nevada Oregon Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina Tennessee Texas Utah Washington
NEEDS INTERVENTION (one year) New York Virgin Islands Vermont
NEEDS INTERVENTION (three years) Palau
NEEDS INTERVENTION (nine consecutive years) Bureau of Indian Education