Search This Blog

Sunday, November 18, 2018

The Autism Caucus Lost Many Members in This Cycle

In The Politics of Autism, I discuss the congressional role in the issue.

The Autism Caucus lost about one-fifth of its House members as a result of retirement, resignation, defeat, or election to other office.

Robert A. Brady (D) (Pennsylvania, District 01) retiring
Michael E Capuano (D) (Massachusetts, District 07) lost primay
Mike Coffman (R) (Colorado, District 06) lost general election
Barbara Comstock (R) (Virginia, District 10) lost general election
Ryan Costello (R) (Pennsylvania, District 06) retiring
Joseph Crowley (D) (New York, District 14) lost primary
John J Duncan Jr. (R) (Tennessee, District 02) retiring
Bob Goodlatte (R) (Virginia, District 06) retiring
Trey Gowdy (R) (South Carolina, District 04) retiring
Gene Green (D) (Texas, District 29) retiring
Darrell Issa (R) (California, District 49) retiring
Sander Levin (D) (Michigan, District 09) retiring
Jason Lewis (R) (Minnesota, District 02) lost general election
Frank LoBiondo (R) (New Jersey, District 02) retiring
Thomas MacArthur (R) (New Jersey, District 03) lost general election
Patrick Meehan (R) (Pennsylvania, District 05) resigned
Luke Messer (R) (Indiana, District 06) lost primary
Rick Nolan (D) (Minnesota, District 08) retiring
Erik Paulsen (R) (Minnesota, District 03) lost general election
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R) (Florida, District 27) retiring
Pete Sessions (R) (Texas, District 32) lost general election
Scott W Taylor (R) (Virginia, District 02) lost general election
Pat Tiberi (R) (Ohio, District 12) resigned
Tim Walz (D) (Minnesota, District 01) elected governor of Minnesota
Kevin Yoder (R) (Kansas, District 03) lost general election

In the Senate, Democrat Joe Donnelly of Indiana lost the general election

Kyrsten Sinema (D) (Arizona, District 09) left her House seat to run for the Senate, where she will probably remain in the Caucus.